2) Mabon Prep- Blessings and Theme

I’ve always thought of Mabon as the Pagan Thanksgiving.  When the world was more rural, the second harvest had been completed and most of the work was done and there was much to be thankful for.  This is a theme I plan on continuing.  At the start of the meal, I will say a thank you blessing to the Goddesses, Gods, Universe, Animals and Plants that all contributed to our meal.  I think it’s important thing for Wiccan families to remember that animals AND plants were killed in order for us to eat.  It is a sacrifice that should be honored.

We thank you Blessed Lord and Lady
For granting us life and love and each other
We thank you Creative Universe
For blessing us with health and all that we need
And for allowing us to know the difference between need and want
We thank you Flora and Fauna
For sustaining us with your life force
We thank you all for our blessings
And ask that you bless those in need and provide for those who live without
Blessed Be!

As we eat (because no one in my family is especially patient) we will go around and say what we are thankful for.  I for one am very thankful for my family and everything we get to do together.

Mabon is the Autumn Equinox so another common theme for the day is balance.  Night and day, dark and light are perfectly balanced at this time and it is a good time to reflect on and strive for balance in your own life.  At the end of the meal, I will say a prayer [1] for balance.

Equal hours of light and darkness
we celebrate the balance of Mabon,
and ask the gods to bless us.
For all that is bad, there is good.
For that which is despair, there is hope.
For the moments of pain, there are moments of love.
For all that falls, there is the chance to rise again.
May we find balance in our lives
as we find it in our hearts. [2]

Blessed Be! )O(

[1]  It seems that a lot of “new” pagans have an issue with the word prayer.  It took me a while to be comfortable with it my self while separating my self from my parents’ religion.  To me, a prayer is a very basic spell, simply the words and energy without a lot of the ritual that full on spells can involve.

[2] This prayer is copied from http://paganwiccan.about.com/od/mabonprayers/qt/BalancePrayer.htm because I wasn’t liking anything I was coming up with on my own.  I will probably end up tweaking it before Saturday.

 

 

1 Comment

  1. 2 Witches in a Box

    This is very pretty.. thank you for posting and I can see myself using this one 🙂
    Val

Leave a comment