Solstice Carols

My favorite part of Christmas growing up, besides the presents of course, was the carols.  As a singer, I loved learning and singing all of them and as both of my parents were also singers, we sang in the choir at our Catholic Church so I know most of the religious carols as well as the secular ones.  When I began practicing Wicca I noticed an odd little fact, for secular carols the word Christmas is almost always easily replaced with Solstice.  They are the the same number of syllables and rhyme and it fits almost too easily to be a coincidence.  Please don’t quote me on this, but it makes me wonder if the name Christ-MAS was chosen by the early Christians to do the opposite of what I am now doing.

For the religious carols I found many websites that list Pagan words to popular carols.  What I am thinking of doing is recording Wiccan versions of some of my favorite carols.  I’m going to try to get Monkey to sing with me and of course Butterfly will add her own little babbles to it.  It will be so much fun to sing adjusted versions of my favorite carols with my kids and pass them on to the next generation.

My father had a rule, no Christmas carols before Thanksgiving.  The stores putting up decorations at Halloween would have driven him up a wall!  He would have complained to manager after manager after manager!  In honor of him I am not going to start recording or posting any songs until after Thanksgiving next Thursday.  I’m looking forward to this project and am really excited to get started.  If there’s a song you would want to hear let me know and I’ll try my best.

Some songs to expect:

  • Have Yourself a Merry Little Sostice
  • White Solstice
  • Chestnuts Roasting (I know that’s not the actual name, it’s called the Christmas song)
  • Silent Night, Solstice Night
  • Glory to the New Born King (Hark the Herald Angels sing)
  • Moon of Silver (We Three kings)
  • Gloria (Angels We Have Heard on High)
  • Gods Rest Ye Merry Pagan Folks (Love this one!!)
  • Oh Holy Night
  • The 13 Days of Solstice

The versions I will use come from Wiccan Yule Carols and if it lists and author/adjustor I will list it when I post the song.

Blessed Be )O(

3 Comments

  1. The word “Christmas” came from “Mass of Christ”. Hence, Christ-mas.

    • I’m pretty sure I knew that somewhere in my head but the similarities between the word sounds is still uncanny.

  2. Massive Christ. :My new favorite band.

Leave a Reply

