As a mother, as a woman, as a human being

Spaceships, Pinups, and Feminist Rants

 

There are a lot of things in this world that seem impossible to change.  This is NOT one of them.   As a woman, this is always something I’ve felt strongly about.  No woman is ever at fault for an assault.  NO.  MATTER.  WHAT.  As the mother of a daughter, everything about this situation terrifies me.  To have your child victimized in such a way and then victimized again because someone places ANY amount of blame on your child is one of my worst nightmares.

I also have a son.  So,  I have the opportunity to do my best to prevent at least 1 man from thinking like this.  When I have more time I will look into SlutWalk!

I have seen first hand how prevalent this belief is.  You can too by checking out the comments section on any rape story on any news outlet.  I once spoke to a commenter who claimed that she had been raped and then said she needed to take responsibility for her actions that contributed to the rape!  I was so angry and so broken hearted that a victim would actually believe that.  To claim any responsibility for an assault takes that blame from the real culprit, the assaulter.  Nothing, NOTHING, you do will ever justify an assault or make it your responsibility in any way!

I want a better world for my children, as do all parents, and doing everything possible to counter act this thought process is 1 thing I, and you, can do to get that better world.  Stay strong and stand up for what is right!  For our future.  For our daughters and sisters and mothers and aunts and cousins and friends.


Blessed Be! )O(

1 Comment

  1. Congratulations! You’ve been nominated for the Super Sweet Blogging Award! For details check out: http://thelifeandtimesofaforeverwitch.wordpress.com/2012/09/05/super-sweet-blogging-award/
    Brightest Blessings

Leave a Reply

