New Moon and a Wiccaning

So yesterday was the New Moon.  As much as I wanted to do something, it didn’t work out.  I was working.  I switched my work schedule to nights for the next 2 weeks.  My daughter, 5 month old Butterfly, has a congenital heart defect and will have to have open heart surgery on June 7th.  Setting up the surgery takes several phone calls between scheduling, the cardiac unit, the welcome coordinator and her regular cardiologist.  There is no way I could set this up while at work so I switched.  I promise, I really am trying to keep up with the observances but I understand that sometimes it just won’t work and that it’s OK.

My son had his Wiccaning when he was about 4 months old.  The weather has been so goofy that I’ve been putting my daughter’s off until the weather stabilized.  Then the cardiologist said we were going to schedule her surgery.  I knew I had to hurry to get her Wiccaning in because it is very important to me to do it before her surgery.  A Wiccaning is not indoctrinating her into the Wiccan faith.  It is asking for her to be blessed and protected by the God, Goddess, Elements and Universe.  Obviously something I want done before surgery and not after!  So I scheduled it for this Saturday followed by a BBQ.  Of course after I scheduled it I realized it was Memorial Day weekend and a lot of people will be out of town. -_-

The ceremony is relatively simple and the same one I used for my son.  It’s a beautiful ceremony (if I do say so myself) that is a combination of ceremonies I found in books and online.  I’m excited for Saturday and relieved that the Wiccaning will be done before her surgery. I ask everyone to pray to whatever God/dess you believe in to protect my beautiful Butterfly that she makes it through the surgery wonderfully and without any complications.

Side Note:  I haven’t forgotten about the house Fairies but they will have to wait until after the surgery.  Priorities, you know.

Blessed Be )O(

1 Comment

  1. Good luck. Be strong.

Leave a Reply

